2019 Florida History Day
Student Scholarship Winners

  • Student Scholarship Winners

Mayflower Legacy Scholarship Award

The $500 Mayflower Scholarship is sponsored by the Florida Society of Mayflower Descendants. It is awarded to a historical paper or documentary entry that competed in the state competition. The entry had to relate to a person, event, or idea that lived or occurred in the 16th, 17th, or early 18th century in Western Europe or North America. The entry was also required to focus on the impact of that person, event, or idea on the development of the United States as a nation today with a unique heritage of liberty and law.

Senior Division

  • Disorderly Women: Liberty of Conscience and Women’s Fight for Religious Freedom
  • Senior Historical Paper
  • Samantha Pruitt
  • Auburndale Senior High School (Polk County)

National Maritime Historical Society Scholarship Award

As part of the 2018-19 Florida History Day program, the National Maritime Historical Society (NMHS) sponsored a $150 scholarship for a junior-division and a senior-division entry that explores a maritime history topic.

Junior Division

First Place
  • When the Nation Held Its Breath: USS Squalus
  • Junior Group Website
  • Henry Fisher, Abby Self, Mohammed Tanveer, and Elizabeth Watson
  • Creative Learning Academy (Escambia)
Second Place
  • The Triumph and Tragedy of the Landings of Normandy
  • Junior Group Website
  • Danny Alex and Eric Zeng
  • Fairview Middle School (Leon)

Senior Division

First Place
  • Triumph and Tragedy Behind the Japanese Suicide Weapon-Kaiten
  • Senior Individual Website
  • Emily Krug
  • Seabreeze High School (Volusia)
Second Place
  • The Age of Exploration: Unmasking the Tragedy Concealed by Triumph
  • Senior Historical Paper
  • Chloe Lundeen
  • Dunnellon High School (Marion)